Fast Facts

The five valleys are: the Bitterroot, the Blackfoot, the upper Clark Fork, the lower Clark Fork, and the Mission.
Five Valleys began as the Five Valley River Park Association back in 1972. It was founded by a group of conservation minded citizens.
Five Valleys received its first grant in 1972 from the America the Beautiful Fund in the amount of $100.
In 1989 Five Valley River Park Association becomes Five Valleys Land Trust and hires a part-time staff person and begins accepting conservation easements.
Five Valleys service area encompasses 17,000 square miles of land.
A major focus area of our work is Rock Creek—a beloved, blue ribbon trout fishery.
Land trusts are not government agencies. Five Valleys Land Trust is a private, non-profit corporation that works with landowners to help them conserve and maintain their family lands through voluntary conservation easements.
In 1997 Five Valleys leads the effort to bring the entire 1600 acres of the Mount Jumbo complex into public ownership.
All the species that Lewis and Clark observed in Western Montana 200 years ago still exist in our service area today.
To date, Five Valleys has protected more than 70,000 acres including over 65,000 acres of wildlife habitat, 45,000 acres of agricultural land, 44,000 of scenic open space and over 5,000 acres of riparian wetlands.
We’ve protected 151 miles of stream frontage.
Five Valleys holds 135 conservation easements.
Each year because of our restoration efforts, we care for thousands of seedlings within our service area.
A landowner granting a conservation easement retains full ownership of the land.
All conservation easements with Five Valleys Land Trust are permanent and remain with the land regardless of future ownership.
There are significant tax benefits associated with donating a conservation easement.
In 2008, Five Valleys was among the first land trusts in the nation to be accredited by the Land Trust Accreditation Commission.
The Swainson’s Hawk flies all the way from Argentina to spend its summers in the Missoula valley. Five Valleys works to protect critical habitat for Swainson’s Hawk and other birds, particularly in the North Hills.
A cutthroat trout that was marked in the Clark Fork River near Milltown was spotted all the way up the Blackfoot in a tributary that Five Valleys is restoring on one of our conservation easements.
Fast Facts

All the species that Lewis and Clark observed in Western Montana 200 years ago still exist in our service area today. >>

News & Events

Announcing our next big Missoula Co. Open Space project: Mount Dean Stone! >>

Thank you for making our 22nd Annual Banquet a Success! >>